Cooperative Institute for Research in Environmental Sciences

Administrative Staff

Administrative Staff

View our full Administrative Staff below or view the Org Chart

Director's Office

Waleed Abdalati
Waleed Abdalati
William M. Lewis Jr.
Associate Director
Lornay Hansen
Executive Assistant to the Director
Paula Robinson
Associate Director for Administration
Kristen Averyt
CIRES Associate Director for Science


Katy Human
Director of Communications
Robin L. Strelow
Graphic Designer/CIRES Photographer
Karin Vergoth
CIRES-NOAA Science Writer


Nathan Campbell
Nate Campbell
CIRES IT Manager
David Zakavec
Support Specialist
Tom Priestley
Unix/Windows System Administrator
Lisa Ho
Software Developer/Database Administrator
Matthew Price
Web Developer
Anya Katarina Owsenek
Diego Gomes

Education and Outreach

Susan Buhr Sullivan
Director: Program design, management, and professional development
Susan Lynds
Program evaluation, editing, and project management
Lesley Smith
Freshwater and ocean science education, professional development for teachers
Amanda Morton
Assistant to the Director
Anne Gold
Project coordinator for CLEAN (Climate Literacy and Energy Awareness Network)
Jennifer Taylor
Curriculum Development & Project Coordinator
George Sharman
Official Volunteer
David Oonk
Multimedia Coordinator


Linda Pendergrass
Event Coordinator

Financial Services

Andrew Pomper
Chief Financial Officer
Jennie Bell
Pre-award administration (proposal support), post-award administration and Travel
Marc Cloninger
Pre-award administration (proposal support), post-award administration and Travel
Ted DeMaria
Pre-award administration (proposal support), export control, contract negotiation, post-award administration
Andrea Dietz
Pre-award administration (proposal support), post-award administration, Cooperative Agreement accounting and Travel
Cholpon Minbaeva
Cholpon Minbaeva
Property, Pre-award administration (proposal support), post-award administration and Travel
Nan Regnier
Travel Manager
Gretchen Richard
Deputy Chief Financial Officer, Administrative manager, Cooperative Agreement accounting, chief proposal preparation specialist

Human Resources, Personnel and Payroll

Annette Sargent
Graduate school appointments, leave records and maintenance, payroll liaison backup assistance
Rhonda Miller
Personnel records, new appointments

Integrated Instrument Development Facility

Don David
Ken Smith
Instrument engineering
Jim Kastengren
Machine Shop Foreman
Wayne Winkler
Electronic design
Yehor Novikov
Scientific Glass Blowing
Daniel Warren

David Skaggs Research Center (NOAA) Administrative Support

Lucia Harrop
Office manager and CIRES liaison with NOAA

CIRES Facilities & Ergonomics

Rob Schubert
Facilities service and maintenance, office ergonomics, security and emergencies